Submitting a research proposal


Here you will be able to find all of the information you need in terms of the process of applying to GMP for support with your research, how GMP will be able to assist with your request and the form you will be required to complete.

The GMP Evidence Based Practice (EBP) board is actively looking to build partnerships with academic institutions and individuals *. The EBP board will look for research that will assist GMP in gaining valuable insight into how it might improve service delivery, internal practices, policies and procedures. The Evidence Based Practice Board meets once a month to review all new research proposals in order to determine which are to be accepted based on the following criteria:

Logistical ability and lawful basis to provide the police data requested.

If the proposal correlates and can assist with GMP current / future strategic policing objectives.

If the proposal significantly different to on-going research projects involving GMP.

If you do have a research proposal to submit to GMP, please complete this research proposal form.

The purpose of this form is to understand your intended research, the data and access you require from GMP, how this information can be safeguarded and the advantages GMP could accrue as a result of your research findings.

If you require any assistance in completing the form, please email researchhub@gmp.police.uk.

The full process, from submitting your initial research enquiry, to receiving a response is available here.

The table below shows the dates your proposal will be required to allow for circulation to and consideration by members of the EBP Board.

* N.B. Masters level and above carrying out their own research.

Dates may be subject to change – due to operational policing demands

Date Completed Research Proposal Form Required By

Date of Evidence Based Practice Board Meeting

Friday 6 April Wednesday 18 April
Friday 11 May Friday 25 May
Friday 15 June Wednesday 27 June
Friday 13 July Wednesday 25 July
Friday 10 August Wednesday 22 August
Friday 7 September Wednesday 19 September
Friday 5 October Wednesday 17 October
Friday 2 November Wednesday 14 November
Friday 7 December Wednesday 19 December

 

Attachments

© Greater Manchester Police 2018