Restructure of the Manchester Divisions

The three Manchester Divisions of Greater Manchester Police are restructuring on 26 June 2012.

The existing North Manchester Division, which covers the city centre, north and east Manchester, will now incorporate Gorton.

The new South Manchester Division will be an amalgamation of the current South Manchester and Metropolitan Divisions creating a more streamlined service for the communities of these areas.

The restructure will not affect operational policing and there will be no change to the service local residents receive. In fact there will be more officers assigned to local policing issues.

The Division will be split into four neighbourhood areas, each one will have a Superintendent, Chief Inspector, Inspectors, Sergeants, PC’s, PCSOs and Detectives.

Chief Superintendent Rob Potts, Divisional Commander for the new South Manchester Division said: “The restructure means that the Manchester Divisions will mirror the same boundaries as Manchester City Council. Local people will get better, more efficient access to local authority services.

“However residents can be assured that that there will be no difference in the way their area is policed. Your local Neighbourhood Policing Teams will continue to operate in your area to respond to the needs of the community. These teams will continue to work with partner agencies to reduce crime and antisocial behaviour.

“The Metropolitan and South Manchester Divisions already work very closely together in running joint operations. The restructure will therefore enable the two divisions to work more effectively as one unified team to tackle cross border offending, gather intelligence and keep communities safe.

“Residents can continue to contact their local team via telephone, email, face-to-face, twitter and at community meetings.”

Councillor Bernard Priest, Manchester City Council's executive member for neighbourhood services, said: "This police reorganisation means not only better organisation for neighbourhood policing but will ensure closer cooperation between GMP, residents, the council and other public services, and that policing and other resources are targeted towards the needs of our communities.

"This is a natural development of the push towards better neighbourhood policing across the city and will give us the opportunity to work even more closely with GMP, meaning police and council officers are kept aware of all issues on the ground and have a better understanding of local concerns.

"Our officers work closely with the police across the city and we've recently been looking at how we can go further with specific joint initiatives to address concerns in Harpurhey, Ardwick and Baguley, while council officers recently moved into Bootle Street Police Station in the city centre. We expect a lot more examples of such joint working to develop as a result of this announcement."

Residents can contact their Neighbourhood Policing Team using the following contact details:

Longsight Neighbourhood Policing Team (Hulme, Ardwick, Moss Side, Rusholme, Longsight) - 0161 856 4223 or

Fallowfield Neighbourhood Policing Team (Fallowfield, Old Moat, Withington, Burnage, Levenshulme) - 0161 856 4423 or

Didsbury Neighbourhood Policing Team (Whalley Range, Chorlton, Chorlton Park, Didsbury West, Didsbury East) - 0161 856 4973 or

Wythenshawe Neighbourhood Policing Team (Northenden, Brooklands, Baguley, Sharston, Woodhouse Park, North Benchill) - 0161 856 4882 or

© Greater Manchester Police 2018